President Robert J. Griggs

President of Southeast Tech, Robert Griggs is pleased to lead the overall vision and direction for the organization. He has served in progressively responsible roles in higher education for more than 20 years as a faculty member, department chair, dean, associate vice president, and academic vice president; most recently within the Minnesota State College and University System. He has been responsible for providing executive oversight and strategic guidance in the planning, development, and evaluation of all aspects of credit and non-credit academic programming.

As a first-generation college student he is passionate about student access, affordability, and transferability. In this regard, he has collaboratively assisted faculty to revise academic programs to improve the quality of offerings and to better align with business and industry needs; led college-wide master academic planning efforts; participated in a successful $35 million-dollar capital campaign; developed new academic pathways for students through the creation of "stackable credentials"; and created collaborative partnerships with school districts, non-profits, business/industry, tribal colleges and other higher education institutions in neighboring states and other countries including Canada, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates, Turkey, Russia and China.

Committed to community involvement, Robert was actively engaged in a number of community organizations and has served as a long-time member of the Bemidji Community Education Board and was selected as the incoming Chair of the Bemidji Chamber of Commerce. Prior to moving to Sioux Falls, Robert and his wife Susan lived in Bemidji for 16 years and they have three children, Matthew, Lauren, and Josh.

Southeast Tech Council

Led by Southeast Tech Council President Deborah Letcher, the Southeast Tech Council consists of committed community members who have a strong interest in the success of technical education. The Southeast Tech Council’s mission is to advise, advocate and provide direction for the organization.

Council Members

Kent Alberty
Employment Edge – President

Mike Crane
Crane and Fowler Investments – Owner

Kim Jensen
Avera Health – VP Talent Management

Deborah Letcher
Southeast Tech Council Chairperson
Sanford Health – Enterprise Executive Director (Clinical and Team Development)

Cindy Monnin
Friessen Construction Co., Inc. - President

Doug Morrison
Citigroup - Director

Scott Reed
Southeast Tech Council Vice-Chairperson
Smithfield Foods – Human Resources Director

Monty Miller (Ex Officio member)
Southeast Tech Foundation President
Sayre Associates – General Manager

Sioux Falls School Board

Southeast Tech is overseen and reports directly to the Sioux Falls School Board.

Sioux Falls School Board Members

Todd Thoelke - President
Phone: 339-2809

Kate Parker - Vice President
Phone: 275-3497
Email: Kate.Parker@k12.sd.us

Douglas C. Morrison - Member
Phone: 351-3797
Email: Doug.Morrison@k12.sd.us

Kent Alberty - Member
Phone: 334-9762
Email: Kent.Alberty@k12.sd.us

Carly Reiter - Member
Phone: 371-1770
Email: Carly.Reiter@k12.sd.us

2016-2017 Southeast Tech Foundation Board of Directors
The Southeast Tech Foundation Board is comprised of 23 insightful and forward-thinking individuals who have generously given of their time to further Southeast Tech’s Mission. View more information on the Board of Directors.