Southeast Tech President   Southeast Tech Council   Sioux Falls School Board

Southeast Tech Foundation Board of Directors

Meet President Robert J. Griggs President Robert Griggs

President of Southeast Tech, Robert Griggs is pleased to lead the overall vision and direction for the organization. He has served in progressively responsible roles in higher education for more than 20 years as a faculty member, department chair, dean, associate vice president, and academic vice president; most recently within the Minnesota State College and University System. He has been responsible for providing executive oversight and strategic guidance in the planning, development, and evaluation of all aspects of credit and non-credit academic programming.

As a first-generation college student he is passionate about student access, affordability, and transferability. In this regard, he has collaboratively assisted faculty to revise academic programs to improve the quality of offerings and to better align with business and industry needs; led college-wide master academic planning efforts; participated in a successful $35 million-dollar capital campaign; developed new academic pathways for students through the creation of "stackable credentials"; and created collaborative partnerships with school districts, non-profits, business/industry, tribal colleges and other higher education institutions in neighboring states and other countries including Canada, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates, Turkey, Russia and China.

Committed to community involvement, Robert was actively engaged in a number of community organizations and has served as a long-time member of the Bemidji Community Education Board and was selected as the incoming Chair of the Bemidji Chamber of Commerce. Prior to moving to Sioux Falls, Robert and his wife Susan lived in Bemidji for 16 years and they have three children, Matthew, Lauren, and Josh.

Southeast Tech Council

Led by Southeast Tech Council President Scott Reed, the Southeast Tech Council consists of committed community members who have a strong interest in the success of technical education. The Southeast Tech Council’s mission is to advise, advocate and provide direction for the organization.

Council Members

Scott Reed

Southeast Tech Council President
Smithfield Foods

Mike Crane

Southeast Tech Council Vice-Chairperson
Lloyd Companies

Daemon Coughlin

Oakridge Nursery

Rob deWit

Baete-Forseth HVAC

Clara Hart


Kim Jensen

Avera Health

Cindy Monnin

Friessen Construction Co., Inc.

Mark Mickelson

Mickelson & Company

Cynthia H. Mickelson

Sioux Falls School Board

David Long

Sanford Health

Rick Thaler

Retired Educator

Brian Williams

Southeast Tech Faculty

Tami Skorczewski

Southeast Tech Staff

Sioux Falls School Board

Southeast Tech is overseen and reports directly to the Sioux Falls School Board.

Sioux Falls Board Members

Cynthia H. Mickelson


Carly R. Reiter

Vice President

Todd Thoelke


Kate Parker


Nan Baker



Sioux Falls School Board
Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2020, 4 p.m.
Instructional Planning Center
201 East 38th Street, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  1. Call to Order
  2. Pledge of Allegiance
  3. Persons Wishing to Address the School Board
  4. Approval of Minutes of January 8, 2020
  5. Approval of Agenda
  6. Conflicts of Interest
  7. Approval of Consent Agenda
    1. Approval of Authorizations and Ratifications
      1. Approval of Contracts
      2. Grant Application
      3. Amending Action SFSD 37672.B3a
    2. Approval of Consolidated Report of Trust and Agency Funds
    3. Approval of Vice President of Finance and Operations Report
    4. Approval of Personnel Report
  8. Reports of the President
    1. Spring Enrollment Report
    2. Employer Survey Report
    3. Career Services Report
    4. Legislative Update
  9. Adjournment

During the legislative session, the School board reviews all legislation pertaining to technical education and adopts positions on each proposed Bill. The link below provides the Institute’s analysis and position on each proposed Bill.

Current Legislative Positions Statement

(All dates/times tentative and subject to change)
School Board - Southeast Tech meetings are held in the Instructional Planning Center (IPC), 201 East 38th Street, Sioux Falls, South Dakota at 4 p.m. (unless otherwise noted.)

Date Time Location
February 5, 2020 4 p.m. IPC
March 4, 2020 4 p.m. IPC

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Reports


Southeast Tech Foundation Board of Directors

The Southeast Tech Foundation Board is comprised of 18 insightful and forward-thinking individuals who have generously given of their time to further Southeast Tech’s Mission.

View more information on the Board of Directors